Google Gmail Confidential Mode launching default ON for your domain

Google Gmail Confidential Mode launching default ON for your domain

On March 7, 2019, Google announced the launch of Gmail confidential mode in beta. On June 25, 2019, this feature will become generally available (GA) and will be set to default ON for all domains with Gmail enabled. Google sharing this information in advance so that you can properly prepare your G Suite domains for this feature.

What do you need to know?

When Gmail messages are sent in confidential mode, it helps protect from unauthorized access and recipients don’t have the option to forward, copy, print, or download their content or attachments. Senders can also set an expiration date for messages sent with confidential mode and revoke access to them at any time.

What does this mean for G SUITE organization?

From June 25, your G SUITE users will have the option to send emails with confidential mode, unless you disable this feature.

As an administrator, you can determine whether your users can use confidential mode by selecting from the following setting options:

  • Disable: This option prevents users in your domain from sending emails with confidential mode.
  • Enable now (beta): This option will enable confidential mode, which is currently in beta. However, the feature will remain enabled when it enters into general availability on June 25, 2019.
  • Enable when the feature is in general availability: This is the default option and will enable confidential mode when this feature becomes generally available on June 25, 2019.

What do I need to do?

You need to ensure that you select the appropriate option in the Admin console for your organization before June 25, 2019.

You can find this setting in the Admin console by navigating to Apps > G Suite > Settings for Gmail > User settings.

If you do not take action before June 25, your domain will automatically have confidential mode turned on for your users, meaning that users will have the option to send emails with confidential mode.

FAQs

How does Gmail confidential mode work with Vault and eDiscovery?

When a user sends a confidential message, Gmail replaces the message body and attachments with a link. Only the subject and body containing the link are sent via SMTP. This means that, if your users send or receive messages in Gmail confidential mode, Vault will retain, preserve, search and export confidential mode messages. The message body of received messages will be accessible in Vault only if the sender of the message is from within your organization. Learn more about how Vault works for confidential mode messages here.

HELP with the GSUITE Account mail?

If you have additional questions or need assistance, please contact Google support. Or you can contact our WordPress-managment.com team and help you with your WordPress G SUITE email account!

5/5 (1 Review)